Season Recital 3


Update: The pianist for this program will be János Palojtay

David Eggert Cello   János Palojtay Piano

David Eggert | Janos Palojtay

Sunday, February 10, 2019
7:30 PM

Muttart Hall | MacEwan Conservatory of Music
10050 MacDonald Drive NW   Edmonton, AB
Parking info: Alberta College lot  |  Chateau Lacombe

$35 Adult | $25 Senior [65+]  |  $10 Student | Ticket / Subscription Information

David Eggert is an international prize-winning cellist who began playing at age three. After studying with Tanya Prochazka for 13 years, he went on to the New England Conservatory, McGill University, the Mozarteum and the Music Academy in Basel, mentored by artists such as Clemens Hagen, Matt Haimovitz, Heinrich Schiff, Rainer Schmidt and Anner Bylsma. Since 2015 he has taught cello, chamber music and interpretation of contemporary music as a professor at the University of the Arts in Bern, Switzerland and is a member of the Lassus String Quartet.

János Palojtay began playing the piano at the age of five. Turning 13, he attended the Special Class for Exceptional Young Talents at the Liszt Academy of Music, Budapest, and also studied in the Mozarteum Salzburg and the Musikhochschule Stuttgart. He has won numerous prizes in national and international competitions which gave him the possibility to play solo recitals in Germany, France, Italy, UK, USA, the Netherlands, Austria and all around Spain. In Hungary he is a regular guest of the most important venues and often invited by the most prominent orchestras as a soloist. He has worked together such conductors as Christopher Hogwood, Gregory Vajda or Gergely Madaras. He is also a very active chamber musician, performing in a great variety of constellations, playing on many international festivals with fellow musicians such as IMS Prussia Cove, Encuentro de Musica Santander or Collegium Musicum in Pommerfelden.


Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809-1847)
Variations Concertantes Op. 17 (1829)

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Suite no. 2 in d minor for unaccompanied cello
BWV 1008 (c. 1720)

Leoš Janaček (1854-1928)
Pohádka (Fairy Tale) (1910)

Johannes Brahms (1833-1898)
Sonata no.1 in e minor Op. 38 (1865)